賭博障礙和問題賭博

當賭博從一個休閒活動變成上癮,賭客會隨著其行為的直接結果出現嚴重的後果。病者可能仍然有能力工作、理財,而沒有展示出賭博障礙的任何症狀,但隨著時間增長這個,他們的問題可發展成為一個導致嚴重財政困難,並與家人和朋友關係緊張的局面。雖然賭博可令某些人上癮,並帶來許多不良後果,康復治療可以幫助人們控制自己的習慣,並找到健康的替代品。

Help-for-a-Gambling-Addict

是什麼引致賭博成癮?

賭博成癮被視為一種“過程上癮”,是因為它與毒品和酒精不同,個人沒有使用物質來改變他們的感觀。賭博上癮者可能在起初接觸賭博,然後在生活中遇上困難時越來越頻繁地賭博,並下意識地將不愉快的情緒或情感以賭博來轉移注意力。賭博在最初可能可以掩蓋情緒,但隨著時間增長很可能會導致更多問題,而以賭博來作為一個應對機制,是很難在不尋求協助的情況下減少破壞性行為來克服這些情緒的。

 

認識到賭博問題或賭博障礙

若賭博令你或者你認識的人感到苦困,或正對你們每天的生活造成影響,你應該要尋求專業人士的協助。當務之急是審視自己的負面情緒,消除繼續破壞性行為的慾望。若果您懷疑自己有賭博障礙或賭博的問題,可以問自己以下問題:

 

  • 你是否覺得你的家人和朋友不理解你?
  • 你會對自己的賭博次數說謊嗎?
  • 你是否有神秘賭博?
  • 一旦開始了是不是很難停止賭博?
  • 您是否會在即使沒有錢或者知道你有財務風險時繼續賭博?
  • 你有沒有試過偷錢來支持你的賭博活動?
  • 你的家人和朋友擔心你賭博嗎?
  • 你是否覺得你需要更頻繁地賭博去令自己感受曾經擁有的興奮感覺?
  • 您是否嘗試過減少賭博,但發現很難或不可能做到?
  • 你所想的東西大多圍繞著賭博嗎?
  • 你有沒有曾經因為賭博問題而令工作或學校生活出現問題?
  • 你是否寧願花時間去賭博而不參與以前曾喜愛的活動?
  • 賭博有否令你有嚴重的財困?
果你對以上兩個或多個問題有肯定的回覆,那你就很有可能有賭博問題。

 

賭癮復康

雖然要承認賭博問題已經失控令人難以接受,其實有很多選擇和專業人士等都可以幫助您。第一步是承認一己的問題,並準備尋求協助。Gamblers Anonymous(匿名賭客)使用的認知行為療法(CBT)和12步療法可有效處理賭博障礙,但在某些情況下,亦有必要使用住院治療設施來克服成癮。

令賭博成癮問題嚴重的主因是否認問題存在

賭博障礙的一個共同特徵是否認問題存在。一開始是很難去令賭搏者承認他們出了問題,尤其是當他們看到別人偶爾賭博並沒有出現不良後果時。否認問題會令賭搏者身邊認識到問題存在的人非常沮喪,並會延遲了尋求協助的過程。如果因賭博帶來的壓力令你的生活持續出現問題,你就可能有賭博障礙。被診斷為賭博障礙,個人必須出現以下至少四個症狀:

 

  • 愈來愈使用更多的金錢作賭博
  • 在試圖停止時,感覺焦躁不安或煩躁
  • 減少賭博次數不成功
  • 總是想著賭博
  • 當感到壓力或煩惱時就會賭博

  • 說謊來隱藏自己的賭博程度
  • 人際關係受損或失去工作
  • 試圖贏回損失的金錢
  • 依靠他人提供財政支持
  • 花大量時間賭博

有賭博問題的人往往還有其他成癮問題

賭博問題和酗酒以及抑鬱症之間有很強的聯繫。有賭博問題的人士可能正試圖利用賭博來面對一個已經存在的抑鬱症狀,或者因為賭博的負面影響令致他們感到抑鬱。事實上,賭博成癮者的自殺率比一般顯著地高。賭博也可能是雙相情感障礙症的躁狂發作,是指一個人突然感到能量激增然後做出衝動和冒險的行為。

Multiple-Addictions

何時為賭博成癮尋求協助?

  • 您想戒賭但無法做到
  • 你知道某人有賭博的問題
  • 您希望獲得現有治療方案的建議和信息
  • 你知道你須要治療,但想要討論細節
  • 您感到但確定你或身邊人有賭博成癮
  • 您的具體需求須要個體化的治療方案

Gambling Disorders and Problem Gambling

When gambling transitions from being a recreational activity to an addiction, gamblers can experience serious consequences as a direct result of their behaviour. It may still be possible to maintain a job and manage finances without displaying any symptoms of a gambling disorder, but over time the problem can develop into a situation that causes serious financial difficulties and strained relationships with family and friends. While gambling can become an addiction for some people and carry many negative consequences, treatments are available to help people control their habit and find healthy alternatives.

Help-for-a-Gambling-Addict

The internet and casinos in Macau have given rise to more gambling addicts

What Causes Gambling Addiction?

Gambling addiction is known a “process addiction,” because unlike alcoholism or drug addiction, a person is not taking a substance to change how they feel. A gambling addict may begin to gamble, or do so increasingly more often during a difficult time in their lives, and can subconsciously do so as a way to divert attention away from unpleasant emotions or feelings. This may initially work to mask these feelings, but over time will most likely cause even more problems, and when used as a coping mechanism, it can be difficult to reduce the destructive behaviour without finding tools to overcome these emotions.

 

Recognising a Gambling Problem or Gambling Disorder

If gambling is causing you or someone you know to feel distressed, or is having an impact on day-to-day life, you should seek seek professional help. It is imperative to keep negative feelings in check and to eliminate the desire to continue with the destructive behaviour. If you suspect that you have a gambling disorder or gambling problem, ask yourself the following questions:

 

  • Do you feel like your family and friends don’t understand you?
  • Do you lie about how often you gamble?
  • Are you secretive about your gambling?
  • Is it difficult to stop when you’re up?
  • Do you gamble even when you don’t have the money, or know you put yourself at financial risk?
  • Have you ever stolen to support your gambling?
  • Are family and friends worried about your gambling?
  • Do you find that you need to gamble more often to feel the same high that you once felt?
  • Have you tried to cut down but found it to be very hard or impossible?
  • Do the majority of your thoughts revolve around gambling?
  • Have you had problems at work or school because of gambling?
  • Would you rather gamble than take part in activities that you once found enjoyable?
  • Has your gambling put you in severe financial distress?
If you’ve answered yes to two or more of these questions you most likely have problems with gambling.

 

Gambling Addiction Rehab

While it may be difficult to accept that your gambling has become out of control, there are many options and professionals waiting to help you. The first step is recognising that you have a problem and being ready to get help. Cognitive behavioural therapy (CBT) and 12 step treatment methods as used by Gamblers Anonymous can be effective in dealing with gambling disorders but in some cases it may be necessary to attend an inpatient treatment facility to overcome the addiction.

 

 

The Overwhelming Factor in Gambling Addiction is That of Denial

A common feature of gambling disorders is being in a state of denial. It can be very difficult for gamblers to recognise that they have a problem in the fist place, especially when they see other people gamble occasionally without undesirable consequences. An unwillingness to accept that there is a problem can be very frustrating for those around them who do recognise that the problem exists, and can delay the process of addressing the gambling disorder. If you are experiencing on-going problems due to gambling that causes stress or other difficulties in your life, you may have a gambling disorder. In order to be diagnosed with a gambling disorder, a person must show at least four of the following symptoms:

 

  • Gambling with increased amounts of money 
  • Feeling restless or irritable when trying to stop
  • Unsuccessful efforts to cut down
  • Being preoccupied with thoughts of gambling
  • Gambling when feeling stressed or upset

  • Lying to hide the extent of gambling
  • Loss of relationships or jobs
  • Trying to win back losses
  • Depending on others for financial support
  • Spending significant time gambling

People with Gambling Problems Often Have Other Addiction Issues

There is a strong link between gambling and alcohol abuse, as well as depression. People with gambling problems may be trying to cope with an already existing depression, or may become depressed due to the negative consequences of their gambling. In fact, suicide rates among gambling addicts are significantly higher than average. Gambling can also be a symptom of a manic episode of bipolar disorder, where a person feels a surge of energy and may engage in impulsive and risky behaviours.

Multiple-Addictions

 

When to Ask for Help with a Gambling Addiction

  • You want to stop gambling but are unable to do so
  • You know somebody with a gambling problem
  • You want advice and information on available treatment options
  • You know you want treatment but would like to discuss details
  • You think but are unsure if you or someone else is a gambling addict
  • You have specific needs that require an individualised treatment plan
Have a question? Send us an email, fill out an online form or use the live chat tab on this page